Week 3: An Evening (or 3) in Roma

This week was the beginning of my every-weekend-traveling.  My roommate and I took an early Friday morning flight  to the place every teenage girl from my generation dreamed about after watching the Lizzie McGuire movie, Rome. Even the 30 minute drive from the airport which took us through run down towns and fields was beautiful,  but nothing compared to actually being in the city.  Absolutely everything was just so beautiful and romantic.  And when I say everything, I mean everything. On Friday, we walked 10 miles around Rome to see all the sites, and wow did we see them.

IMG_8836.jpg

The Trevvi Fountain was our first stop.  We took our tourist-y pictures because how can you not and I met up with one of my sorority sisters, Grace, who is studying at John Cabot University in Rome for the semester.

IMG_8856.jpg

Screen Shot 2017-02-06 at 12.27.21 PM.pngThe colosseum was the next stop, and was mind blowing.  It was about a 30 minute wait and the place was absolutely packed with tourists, but it was all worth it once we made it in.  I don’t know if I’ve ever seen something so big that made such a big impact.  We skipped the guided tour and walked through it by ourselves for a half hour or so before moving on.  10/10 would recommend.

Did I mention I had the best food in my whole life over this weekend?  The pizza was ridiculous, the bruschetta (pronounced bru-sketta; the more you know) and caprese salad were to die for and I had the best lasagna ever tried by anyone ever.  Not an exaggeration 😉

 

IMG_8863.jpg

This pizza place was a little hole in the wall pizza bar called Bonci Pizzaria.  We went up to the counter where they had probably 50 different types of pizza and we got to say how much of which one we wanted.  From left to right I got the spinach and mozzarella, spicy tomato, and spicy cod. The pizza to the back of the picture is Grace’s and (from left to right)  is tomato and basil, cheesy potato and spicy tomato.  We all stood around tables on the sidewalk outside and tried all the weird ones everyone got, my favorite had some mix on pancetta and white sauce on it.  It was so good that we weren’t even mad when we were too full to walk back to the city and had to take the bus. IMG_8808.jpgIMG_8837 (1).jpg

IMG_8885.jpgIMG_8839.jpg

I hope you enjoyed that little slide show of the best meals I had in Rome because I could look at them all day.  Seriously, unreal.

We ended the night by going out around Trestevere (John Cabot area) and seeing various bars around there.  We stopped in one for ‘Chocolate shots’ which were shot yummy shots of baileys or vodka in shot glasses made of chocolate with a huge amount of whipped creme on top. Pictured below.  We also went to Rome’s ‘Ice Bar’ which is a bar made entirely out of ice, including igloos, glasses made of ice and ice statues of Spartans.  We stayed for under 20 minutes because it was so cold, but I definitely recommend the experience.

IMG_8840.jpgIMG_8928.jpg

Overall, I absolutely loved Rome and Nicole and I were so bummed to be leaving after only a few days.  Huge thanks to Grace for being our tour guide and miss you already,

until next time! Ciao Roma!

